- Financial Aid Home
- Apply for Financial Aid
- Verify My Application
- FAFSA Eligibility Requirements
- Types of Financial Aid
- Fee Waiver
- LPC Forms and Petitions
- AB 540 and California Dream Act
- Federal Direct Loans
- Payment Dates
- Complete Withdraw
- Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy
- AB 19 Promise Scholarship
- Work Study
- Policies & Procedures
- Financial Aid Television (FATV)
- Videos En Español
- Glossary and Financial Literacy
- Net Price Calculator
- Tax Information
- CARES Act Relief Fund Report
California College Promise Grant
(formerly BOG Waiver, BOG-W)
Where is my Fee Waiver?
Did I complete a Fee Waiver application or FAFSA or CADAA?
Did you lose your Fee Waiver due to Loss of BOG eligibility?
The California College Promise Grant (formerly known as the BOG Fee Waiver) helps eligible students with the tuition Enrollment Fee ($46 per unit). The Promise Grant Fee Waiver is a non-monetary program and may require repayment if a student receives a Promise Grant fee waiver initially based on incorrect information provided. Promise Grant fee waiver applicants are not required to be enrolled in a specific number of units. The Promise Grant pays the $46/unit enrollment fee for a given academic year beginning with Summer Term. This program is available to California residents only, or students who qualify under AB 540 regulations.
To obtain an Enrollment Fee Waiver, documented students file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at https://studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid/fafsa, AB540 undocumented students file a California Dream Act Application (www.dream.csac.ca.gov) , or either can file a paper Promise Grant fee waiver application available at the Financial Aid Office, or apply online (opens best in Internet Explorer)
California residents (those who have lived in California for at least one year and one day) must meet one of the following criteria to be eligible:
Type A (documentation required):
- California College Promise Grant (formerly Board of Governors or BOG Fee Waiver) Method A (documentation required): You or your family are receiving public assistance from Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF/CalWORKs), General Assitance or Supplemental Security Income/State Supplemental Program (SSI/SSP)
- Have certification from the California Department of Veterans' Affairs or the National
Guard Adjutant General for a Dependent's Fee Waiver, or are a Dependent of or a Recipient
of the Congressional Medal of Honor, or a Dependent of a Victim of the September 11,
2001 Terrorist Attack, or a dependent of a deceased law enforcement/fire suppression
personnel killed in the line of duty
Supporting documentation must be provided for all.
Type B (documentation required):
Meet the income standards listed in the Total Family Income table below. Students should be prepared to show previous federal tax return(s), W2s, or other income verification. These amounts are estimated at the time of publication and are subject to change.
California College Promise Grant Fee Waiver Online Application
(opens best in Internet Explorer)
*Maximum Income Standards
|Number in Household||2020-2021 waiver
*Maximum Income for the year 2018
|Add $6,630 for each additional family member.|
* These standards are based upon the federal poverty guidelines, as published each year by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Under Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations, the student or student's family must have a total income in the prior year (in this case, 2015) that is equal to or less than 150% of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Poverty Guidelines based on family size.
Students without Social Security Numbers who qualify as 'AB 540'-eligible students through the Admissions and Records Office are encouraged to apply for a fee waiver at California Dream Act or apply using the Online Promise Grant Application.
Type C (must have completed a FAFSA or Dream Application for Undocumented/DACA)
You have applied for financial aid (FAFSA/or CA Dream Act Application for undocumented students, DACA, and AB 540) and have been determined to have an unmet need by the U.S. Department of Education. A Minimum Unmet Need of $1,104 is required. For more information please contact the Financial Aid Office.
Once you are awarded a fee waiver, it will be applicable for the entire Financial Aid year summer, fall, and spring). You must reapply for FASFA or DREAM Application every new school year!!
Once the college receives the FAFSA results, to determine Promise Grant Type C eligibility, the financial aid office subtracts the student's Expected Family Contribution (EFC) from their cost of attendance. If what remains ('financial need') is $1104 or greater, the student is given a fee waiver. Waivers are posted onto the registration computer system automatically once results are received from the federal processor. The waiver will automatically appear on the system if you are eligible. When you register using the CLASS-Web system you will not be assessed the $46/unit enrollment fees.
Remember, the deadline to qualify for a Promise Grant Fee Waiver is the last day of the spring semester.
Note: If a student retroactively demonstrates eligibility for a fee waiver at any time prior to the last day of the spring term for that academic year, the student may request a refund of enrollment fees previously paid, even if one or more terms have been completed. Refunds of enrollment fees paid for the academic year must be requested by June 30 of the academic year. If a student becomes ineligible for a Promise Grant after receiving a Promise Grant Fee Waiver, the college has the right to pursue recovery of the ineligible fees. Fee waivers previously granted due to incorrect information on an earlier FAFSA or Fee Waiver Application are subject to reversal if the corrected information indicates the student does not meet the eligibility requirements, and collection of fees will be required.
If you qualify for a Promise Grant fee waiver by the deadline and have already paid registration fees, you may receive a full refund for the waived fees by completing an Application for Refund of Enrollment Fees, available on our FORMS page (Request for Refund of Enrollment Fees) or at Admissions and Records Office, Building 1600 (Second Floor). Note: If a student retroactively demonstrates eligibility for a fee waiver at any time during the academic year, the College may reimburse the students for the fees paid, even if one or more terms have been completed. Reimbursements may be paid to students only within the current academic year. There shall be no reimbursements after June 30 of the academic year. If a student becomes ineligible after receiving a Promise Grant Fee Waiver, the college has the option of pursuing recovery of the ineligible fees.
CAL Vet Fee Waiver Program
The College Tuition Fee Waiver for Veteran Dependents benefit waives mandatory system-wide tuition and fees at any State of California Community College, California State University, or University of California campus. This program does not cover the expense of books, parking or room and board. There are four plans under which dependents of veterans may be eligible.
- Information & Application - https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/College-Fee-Waiver.aspx
- College Fee Waiver for Veterans' Dependents Program - LPC Veterans First Program
STUDENTS MAY LOSE ELIGIBILITY FOR A CALIFORNIA COLLEGE PROMISE GRANT FEE WAIVER
Once you’ve qualified for the Promise Grant Fee Waiver, it is important to ensure that you are meeting the college’s academic and progress standards in order to avoid losing your fee waiver:
- Academic – Sustain a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher
If your cumulative GPA falls below 2.0 for two (2) *consecutive primary terms (fall and spring semesters are primary terms at Las Positas College) you may lose your fee waiver eligibility
- Progress – Complete more than 50% of your coursework
If the cumulative number of units you successfully complete falls below 50% in two (2) *consecutive primary terms (fall and spring semesters are primary terms at Las Positas College) you may lose your fee waiver eligibility.
- Combination of Academic and Progress Standards
Any combination of two *consecutive terms of cumulative GPA below 2.0 and/or cumulative unit completion less than 50% may result in loss of fee waiver eligibility.
You will be notified within 30 days of the end of each primary term if you are being placed on either Academic (GPA) and/or Progress (Course Completion) probation. Your notification will include the information that a second term of probation will result in loss of fee waiver eligibility. After the second consecutive term of probation, you may lose eligibility for the Promise Grant fee waiver at your next registration opportunity.
APPEAL PROCESS FOR LOSS OF PROMISE GRANT:
Under certain circumstances you may file an Appeal for your Loss of Promise Grant fee waiver.
*’Consecutive terms’ are defined by the state, as any two primary semesters of attendance during which there were no more than ONE primary term of non-attendance inbetween.
Example: If you attended spring 2016, didn’t attend fall 2016, and attended spring 2017, the spring 2016 and spring 2017 terms are considered ‘consecutive’. If you attended fall 2015, did not attend spring 2016 or fall 2016 but attended spring 2017, then the fall 2016 and spring 2017 terms are NOT considered consecutive.
Financial Aid Office
Cranium Café - Online video chat
How to Contact Staff While We are Working Remotely
Please Note: We have an after-hours DROPBOX located in the hallway between the Admissions and Financial Aid Offices, for your convenience.
Federal School Code
- Financial Aid in Six Steps Flyer
- Important Dates & Deadlines
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Financial Aid Office Staff