Associated Students of Las Positas College

Becoming a Senator

Senators are an important part of the Associated Students of Las Positas College. Being a part of student government will enhance your college experience by awarding you the opportunity to represent students on the local, state, and federal level. You will also get to put on exciting events that improve student life. Senators have important responsibilities, such as communicating with other students on a regular basis in order to be able to address students’ concerns, attending weekly meetings, sitting on campus-wide committees, attending workshops to improve skills and gain knowledge relevant to student government, recruiting new members, attending retreats and conferences, and helping out with events. For more information on how to become a Senator, please review the Senator Packet. Senators are required to attend the ASLPC meetings scheduled each Friday from 1:00 p.m. - Adjournment..

Any student interested in becoming a Senator must meet all requirements (listed in the Senator Packet) and submit a completed packet to the ASLPC Office. Per the ASLPC Bylaws, there is a limit on the number of Senators in the ASLPC. If there are 30 or more active Senators, prospective members will be placed on a waitlist and notified when a position becomes available. Prospective Senators on the waitlist may be given the opportunity to participate in some Student Senate activities, as decided by the Executive Officers. If a Senator position becomes available, a committee of Senators chaired by the Vice President will evaluate candidates and make a recommendation to the Student Senate, who shall then vote to approve that decision by a two-thirds (2/3) majority. A Student Senator shall be recognized after attending a student senate meeting, an orientation with the Student Senate Vice President, and receiving 150 verified student signatures during the academic year.


Senator Contact Information

All Senators may be contacted at 925.424.1490.


Senator Brandon Byrne Brandon Byrne - Senator
Senator Catherine Shearer Catherine Shearer - Senator
Senator Angela Toledo Angela Toledo
Senator Monica Alvarez Monica Alvarez - Senator
Senator Gergana Gospodinova Gergana Gospodinova
Senator Lara Ganjei Lara Ganjei - Senator




Scott Miner
Director of Student Life

Amanda Ingold
Student Life Assistant

Tatiana Hernandez

Zainab Dogar
Vice President

Jasleen Gill
Inter-Club Council Chair

Garrett Culbertson
Director of Legislation

Kirstie Burgess
Director of Events

Uphie Ngwa
Director of Communications

Chris Romero
Student Trustee

Committe Reports

Print this Page Email this Page

Page last modified: April 24, 2017