Skip to main content

Las Positas College statements on hate speech and freedom of expression Read more.

Occupational Safety Certificate of Achievement (CA)

About the Program

The Certificate of Achievement in Occupational Safety is designed to provide students with a foundation of understanding hazardous materials management, construction safety, OSH safety training and accident investigation, for workplace safety and health standards. The Occupational Safety and Health specialist implements mandated health and safety regulations in an effort to control occupational accidents and diseases, property losses and injuries due to unsafe working conditions. The scope of this position includes the identification of physical hazards and the design and implementation of remediation, the evaluation of potential toxic agent risk to the employer, the development of safety management and employee training/management programs. The demand for occupational safety and health specialists has grown over the past 10 years. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, federal, state and local government job growth will continue through 2022.

Career Opportunities

The safety and health practitioner may specialize in fire and property, chemical and radiological safety, emergency response, general workplace safety, transportation, construction, systems or product design. The Certificate of Achievement in Occupational Safety and Health is designed for direct job entry and/or career enhancement. Career opportunities include, Safety Technician, Safety Specialist, Safety Officer, Industrial Hygienist, Safety Professional – Construction, Safety Professional – Manufacturing, Safety Professional – Metals, and Field Safety and OSHA Specialist.

Program Outcomes

  • Upon completion of the Certificate of Accomplishment in Occupational Safety, students are able to perform basic duties of a safety specialist.

Required Core: (9 units)

Course Number Course Title Units
OSH 50 Intro Occupational Safety/Hlth 3
OSH 62 Physical Hazards 3
OSH 67 Comp Regulatory Requirements 3

Total Units: 9