

# **Las Positas College Student Government**

Senate Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 29th, 2025 | 4:00 PM

## I. CALL TO ORDER (1 min)

Meeting Called to Order at 4:00 PM

Called meeting to a 5 Minute Recess

**No Objections** 

## Called Meeting to Order at 4:05 PM

## II. ROLL CALL (1 min)

## **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Angelo Mercado – President (Chair) P	-	Isabella Qiu – Vice President P	-
Mariia Volova – Director of Legislation P	-	Evan Jimenez – Director of Communications P	-
Seerat Kaur – Director of Events EA	-	Zainab Abbas – Director of Programs and Services	-
		P	

Heba Munad – Director of Finance P - Keoni Federico – Director of Club Outreach P

## STUDENT TRUSTEE

Isabella Qiu – Las Positas College Student Trustee P

### **SENATORS**

Aanya Joshi P Mehrsa Gholikhamseh P

Arya Ferozy P Naomi Mangini P



Jason Kandel P Zarlasht Ahmadzai P

Jason Angelov P Amir Salehifar P

Abigail Brandel P Anatoly Tsigelnik P

Fatemah Hossein Zadeh P Natalie Barretto P

Shruthi Pradeep P

Darya Novokhatskaya P

### MIDDLE COLLEGE REPRESENTATIVES

Erin Yuncuoglu P

Sophia Sucato P

## **ADVISORS**

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of

Student Life & Leadership P

## III. QUORUM

**Quorum established with 23 Members** 

## IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

No questions/amendments

Motioned to approve my E. Yuncuoglu

Seconded by S. Pradeep

**No Objections** 

## V. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

1.24.2025.Special.Senate.Meeting.Minutes.docx

A. Ferozy Motioned to approve,



## S. Sucato Seconded

## **No Objections**

## VI. GUEST SPEAKER(S)

## **No Guest Speakers**

VII. **PUBLIC COMMENT** (3 minutes per person) Students and members of the public are encouraged to speak on any topic during public comment. Each individual is limited to three minutes. If students or members of the public wish to address an item on the agenda during the meeting or ask questions during the meeting, they need to be recognized by the Chairperson by both raising their hand and speaking out their name. Their comment is limited to three minutes. (CA Education Code 72121.5 and Government Code 54954.3)

No public comments.

## VIII. OLD BUSINESS

<b>Approval of Board</b>	M. Volova will propose to approve the revisions of BP	5 Minutes
Revisions	2015, BP 4220, BP 5410, AP 5410, BP 2105, AP 2105	
- M. Volova	Board Policy and Administrative Procedures Revisions.docx	
Action Item	Motioned by A. Joshi, Seconded by S. Sucato No Objections	
	Roll Call initiated:	
	Isabella Qiu - Vice President	
	Aye	
	<b>Evan Jimenez - Director of Communications</b>	
	Aye	
	Heba Munad - Director of Finance	
	Aye	
	Mariia Volova - Director of Legislation	
	Aye	
	Keoni Federico - Director of Club Outreach	
	Aye	
	Zainab Abbas – Director of Programs and Services	
	Aye	
	Aanya Joshi	
	Aye	



	Mehrsa Gholikhamseh	
	Aye	
	Arya Ferozy	
	Aye	
	Naomi Mangini	
	Aye	
	Jason Kandel	
	Aye	
	Jason Angelov	
	Aye	
	Zarlasht Ahmadzai	
	Aye	
	Erin Yuncuoglu	
	Aye	
	Abigail Brandel	
	Aye	
	Amir Salehifar	
	Aye	
	Anatoly Tsigelnik	
	Aye	
	Shruthi Pradeep	
	Aye	
	Natalie Barretto	
	Aye	
	Fatemah Hossein Zadeh	
	Aye	
	Sophia Sucato	
	Aye	
	Darya Novokhatskaya	
	Aye	
	Angelo Mercado – President (Chair)	
	Aye	
	Motion Passes Unanimously	
Parking Permit	A. Mercado will provide a report back on the LPCSG	5 Minutes
Resolution	Parking Permit Resolution adopted on December 4 <sup>th</sup> , 2024.	
- A. Mercado	ParkingPermitResolution.pdf	



M. Volova Motioned, Seconded by N. Mangini **No Objections** Action Item **Roll Call initiated:** Isabella Qiu - Vice President Aye **Evan Jimenez - Director of Communications Heba Munad - Director of Finance** Mariia Volova - Director of Legislation **Keoni Federico - Director of Club Outreach Zainab Abbas – Director of Programs and Services** Aanya Joshi Ave Mehrsa Gholikhamseh Aye **Arya Ferozy** Aye Naomi Mangini Aye **Jason Kandel** Aye **Jason Angelov** Aye Zarlasht Ahmadzai Erin Yuncuoglu Aye **Abigail Brandel** Ave **Amir Salehifar** Aye **Anatoly Tsigelnik Shruthi Pradeep** Aye **Natalie Barretto Fatemah Hossein Zadeh** Aye **Sophia Sucato** 

Aye



Darya Novokhatskaya	
Aye	
Angelo Mercado – President (Chair)	
Aye	
Motion Passes Unanimously	
Senator Comment:	
Anatoly Tsigelnik- "We are equal and are apart of a shared	
governance, we have an equal right as do other paid	
employees to have our parking paid for".	
Shruthi Pradeep- "We are employees, we should be treated	
equally, they see it as an equity issue, we are clear cut	
employees, we should be treated as such, our parking should	
be paid for".	

## IX. NEW BUSINESS

First Week of	A. Mercado will give a report on the First Week of the	5
School Report	School.	Minutes
- A. Mercado		
Discussion		
LPCSG Retreat	A. Mercado will give a report on the LPCSG Retreat.	5
Report		Minutes
- A. Mercado  Discussion Item		
Winter	K. Federico will discuss the logistics of Winter	5
Wonderland	Wonderland.	Minutes
- K. Federico		
Discussion Item		
LPCSG Elections	M. Volova will discuss the logistics and dates to table for	5
	LPCSG Elections.	Minutes
- M. Volova		



Discussion Item		
<b>LPCSG Elections</b>	M. Volova will propose the adoption of the LPCSG	5
Code	Elections Code for the 2025-2026 LPCSG Elections.	Minutes
- M. Volova	Elections Code	
Action Item	20 Minute Recess Taken at 4:50 PM	
	5:10 Meeting called back to order	
	A. Ferozy Motions to call a 5 Minute recess	
	E. Jimenez Objects, Motion Dies	
	Motioned by N. Mangini	
	Seconded by I. Qiu	
	No Objections	
	No Objections	
	Roll Call initiated:	
	Isabella Qiu - Vice President	
	Aye	
	<b>Evan Jimenez - Director of Communications</b>	
	Aye	
	Heba Munad - Director of Finance	
	Aye	
	Mariia Volova - Director of Legislation	
	Aye	
	Keoni Federico - Director of Club Outreach	
	Aye	
	Zainab Abbas – Director of Programs and Services	
	Aye	
	Aanya Joshi	
	Aye	
	Mehrsa Gholikhamseh	
	Aye	
	Arya Ferozy	
	Aye	
	Naomi Mangini	
	Aye	
	Abigail Brandel	
	Aye	



**Amir Salehifar** 

Aye

**Anatoly Tsigelnik** 

Aye

**Shruthi Pradeep** 

Aye

**Natalie Barretto** 

Ave

Darya Novokhatskaya

Aye

**Angelo Mercado – President (Chair)** 

Aye

**Motion Passes Unanimously** 

Point of Privilege Z. Abbas

Point of Privilege E. Yuncuoglu

Point of Privilege J. Angelov

Point of Privilege S. Sucato

Point of Privilege F. Zadeh

Point of Privilege A. Joshi

## X. OFFICER REPORTS

### **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Angelo Mercado – President (Chair) - Isabella Qiu – Vice President -

Mariia Volova – Director of Evan Jimenez – Director of Communications -

Legislation

Seerat Kaur – Director of Events - Zainab Abbas – Director of Programs and

Services



Heba Munad – Director of Finance - Keoni Federico – Director of Club Outreach -

### STUDENT TRUSTEE

Isabella Qiu – Las Positas College Student Trustee

### **SENATORS**

Aanya Joshi Mehrsa Gholikhamseh

Arya Ferozy Naomi Mangini

Jason Kandel Zarlasht Ahmadzai

Jason Angelov Amir Salehifar

Abigail Brandel Anatoly Tsigelnik

Fatemah Hossein Zadeh Natalie Barretto

Shruthi Pradeep

Darya Novokhatskaya

### MIDDLE COLLEGE REPRESENTATIVES

Erin Yuncuoglu

Sophia Sucato

### **ADVISORS**

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of

Student Life & Leadership

## **XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS** (3 mins)

### XII. GOOD OF THE ORDER



## XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Motioned by A. Ferozy Seconded by N. Barretto

**No Objections** 

**Motion Passes Unanimously** 

**Meeting Adjourned at 6:27 PM**