

LPC Mission Statement

Las Positas College is an inclusive, learningcentered, equity-focused environment that offers educational opportunities and support for completion of students' transfer, degree, and career-technical goals while promoting lifelong learning.

LPC Planning Priorities

- Establish a knowledge base and an appreciation for equity; create a sense of urgency about moving toward equity; institutionalize equity in decision-making, assessment, and accountability; and build capacity to resolve inequities.
- Increase student success and completion through change in college practices and processes: coordinating needed academic support, removing barriers, and supporting focused professional development across the campus.
- Establish a knowledge base and appreciation for health and wellness in the workplace; create a sense of urgency about wellness; prioritize wellness in decision-making, assessment and accountability; and build capacity to support wellness.

Academic Senate Quorum: 7

Non-Voting Members:

President: Ashley McHale Student Government: Sophia Sucato Faculty Association: Heike Gecox

Voting Members:

Secretary: Collin Thormoto Treasurer: Catherine Suarez BSSL: Robin Roy, Collin Thormoto A&H: John Kelly, Catherine Suarez STEM: Anita Bhatia, David Montelongo, Jennifer Siders PATH: *vacant* Student Services: Ryan Eckles, Julie Nguyen Part Time Representatives: Valerie Connors, Jeff Judd

ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA

February 12, 2025 | 2:30 pm – 4:30 pm | Room 21147 + Zoom for visitors

Agenda Item – Zoom information at end of agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Review and Approval of Agenda
- 3. Review and Approval of Minutes (January 22, 2025)
- **4.** Public Comments (3 minutes): This time is reserved for members of the public to address the Academic Senate. Please limit comments to 3 minutes. In accordance with the Brown Act, the Academic Senate cannot act on these items.

5. Consent Items

5.1 Dean of Business, Social Science, and Learning Resources (BSSL)
Hiring Committee: Jin Tsubota and Irena Keller
5.2 Computer Science Faculty Hiring Committee: Ashley McHale,
Carlos Moreno, and Jeffrey Weichert
5.3 Curriculum approvals: 2.3.25 (attached)

6. Action Items

7. Reports (5 minutes each)

- 7.1 Curriculum Committee (Craig Kutil)
- 7.2 LPC Student Government (Sophia Sucato)
- 7.3 Distance Education (Kathleen King)
- 7.4 CEMC/DEMC (Ashley McHale)
- 7.5 Faculty Hiring Prioritization (Heike Gecox)
- 7.6 District Technology (Jeff Judd)
- 7.7 Guided Pathways (Nadiyah Taylor & Jill Carbone)
- 7.8 A.I. Honesty (Catherine Suarez)
- 7.9 Treasurer (Catherine Suarez)
- 7.10 President (Ashley McHale)
- 7.11 Divisions
 - BSSL (Robin Roy, Collin Thormoto)
 - A&H (John Kelly, Catherine Suarez)
 - STEM (Anita Bhatia, David Montelongo, Jennifer Siders)
 - PATH
 - Student Services (Ryan Eckles, Julie Nguyen)
 - Part Time Representatives (Valerie Connors, Jeff Judd)
- 8. Wellness Break (5 minutes)

February 12, 2025 | 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm | Room 21147 + Zoom for visitors

9. Old Business

9.1 Bylaws and Constitution9.2 Sanctuary Campus Statement

10. New Business

10.1 AB 1705 Resolution 10.2 New FTES Calculation starting Fall 2026

11. Good of the Order/Announcements

- 12. Adjournment
- 13. Next Regular Meeting: February 26, 2025

ZOOM LOGIN: This will be the same for every Academic Senate meeting

https://us06web.zoom.us/s/82457062184

Phone one-tap: US: +16694449171, 82457062184# or +16699006833, 82457062184#

Meeting ID: 824 5706 2184