<u>Analysis of Senate Reassigned Time PART I</u>

Submitted by:

Laura Alarcon, Vice President, Chabot Academic/Faculty Senate Diane Zuliani, Secretary, Chabot Academic/Faculty Senate

Our research shows that reassigned time amounts for Faculty Senates of the Bay 10 colleges vary, and the amounts are expressed in different types of documents and in different combinations. This document summarizes our findings. See the attached spreadsheet for specific college's official language pertaining to Senate reassigned time, and, wherever possible, links to, and attachments to, those sources.

The following colleges set a **per semester** limit of aggregated reassigned time for their Senate as a whole, to be distributed as Senate, or in some cases the Senate President, sees fit:

SENATES WITH AGGREGATED REASSIGNED TIME:

200% FTEF = Foothill/De Anza (combined) 180% FTEF = Yosemite Community College 160% FTEF = Modesto Junior College 100% FTEF = Columbia College 80% FTEF = Santa Rosa Community College

The following colleges set specific **per semester** limits of reassigned time amounts for the following officers: PRESIDENT, VICE PRESIDENT(S), and SECRETARY:

PRESIDENT:

100% FTEF = Foothill/De Anza (see above)
100% FTEF = San Francisco City College
100% FTEF = Contra Costa Community College
100% FTEF = Diablo Valley College
100% FTEF = Los Medanos College
80% FTEF = Monterey Peninsula
80% FTEF = Merritt College
50% FTEF + 20% FTEF stipend in summer = Cabrillo College
50% FTEF + \$5,000 stipend in summer = West Valley College
50% FTEF + \$5,000 stipend in summer = Mission College
50% FTEF = Chabot College
50% FTEF = Chabot College
40% FTEF = Gavilan College
40% FTEF = Gollege of San Mateo
33% FTEF = College of Marin

VICE PRESIDENTS:

```
60% FTEF for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President = San Francisco City College
40% FTEF for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President = San Francisco City College
40% FTEF for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President = San Joaquin Delta
40% FTEF for Vice President = Cabrillo College
20% FTEF for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President = San Joaquin Delta
20% FTEF for Vice President = Hartnell College
20% FTEF for Vice President: Merritt College
20% FTEF for Vice President = College of San Mateo
10% FTEF for Vice President = College of Marin
```

SECRETARY:

```
40% FTEF for Secretary = San Francisco City College
30% FTEF for Secretary = San Joaquin Delta
13% FTEF for Secretary = Cabrillo
10% FTEF for Secretary = Hartnell
7% FTEF for Secretary = College of Marin
```

The following colleges set a per semester limit of aggregated reassigned time to be shared by officers other than President:

AGGREGATED REASSIGNED TIME FOR OFFICERS OVERALL (not including President):

```
100% FTEF shared by Vice President & Secretary = Foothill/ De Anza 60% FTEF shared by Vice President & Secretary = Monterey Peninsula 40% FTEF shared by two Vice Presidents = Gavilan College 40% FTEF shared by Vice President & Secretary = Santa Rosa
```

The following colleges have officers other than President, Vice President(s), or Secretary who are compensated with reassigned time:

OTHER OFFICERS:

```
20% FTEF for Archivist = San Francisco City College
10% FTEF for Faculty Travel Coordinator = San Francisco City College
10% FTEF for Treasurer = Cabrillo
10% FTEF CTE Liason: Hartnell
```

The following colleges have paid clerical assistants:

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT:

Approx. 53% load for Classified Admin Assist = shared by West Valley & Mission Colleges Approx. 15% load for Classified Admin Assist, ONLY IF no Senate Secretary is elected = Chabot College

The following colleges do NOT compensate any officers other than President:

Mission College West Valley College Cabrillo College Chabot College Las Positas College