

#### LPC Mission Statement

Las Positas College is an inclusive, learningcentered, equity-focused environment that offers educational opportunities and support for completion of students' transfer, degree, and career-technical goals while promoting lifelong learning.

#### LPC Planning Priorities

- Establish a knowledge base and an appreciation for equity; create a sense of urgency about moving toward equity; institutionalize equity in decision-making, assessment, and accountability; and build capacity to resolve inequities.
- Increase student success and completion through change in college practices and processes: coordinating needed academic support, removing barriers, and supporting focused professional development across the campus.

#### LPC Academic Senate Quorum: 8

#### Non-Voting Members:

President: Sarah Thompson Student Government: Lara Weidemeier Faculty Association: Heike Gecox Admin.: Rifka Several

#### Voting Members:

Vice President: Collin Thormoto Secretary: Dave Wagner Treasurer: Ashley Young BSSL: Robin Roy, Daniel Cearley A & H: John Kelly, Peter Kuo, Kisha Quesada Turner STEM: Michael Peterson, Ashley McHale PATH: Student Services: Christina Lee, Jill Oliveira Part Time Representatives: Jeff Jud**d** 

# **ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA**

April 26, 2023 | 2:30 – 4:30 pm | Room 1687

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Review and Approval of Agenda
- 3. Review and Approval of Minutes (April 12, 2023)
- **4. Public Comments (5 minutes):** This time is reserved for members of the public to address the Academic Senate. Please limit comments to 5 minutes. In accordance with the Brown Act, the Academic Senate cannot act on these items.

## 5. Action Items

## 6. Consent Items

6.1 PATH EMS-Paramedic Full Time Instructor Hiring Committee:Ashley McHale, Mike McQuiston, Tim Adams6.2 PATH ATHL/KIN Assistant Hiring Committee: James Giacomazzi,Caleb Theodore

## 7. Reports

- 7.1 LPC Student Government (Lara Weidemeier)
- 7.2 CTE (Melissa Korber)
- 7.4 SLO Committee (John Rosen)
- 7.5 Program Review Committee (Nadiyah Taylor)
- 7.6 CEMC/DEMC (Sarah Thompson)
- 7.7 Faculty Hiring Prioritization (Heike Gecox)
- 7.8 Accreditation Steering Committee (Kristina Whalen)
- 7.9 SEA Committee (Shawn Taylor)
- 7.10 District Technology Committee (Bill Komanetsky)
- 7.11 Guided Pathways (Kristy Woods)
- 7.12 District Compressed Calendar Committee (Kisha Quesada Turner)
- 7.13 Treasurer (Ashley Young)
- 7.14 President (Sarah Thompson)

## 8. Old Business

8.1 Academic Senate Elections: nominations from the floor for President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer.

- 8.2 Updates from Academic Senate Advisory Committees:
- 8.3 Math Non-Success retention program update (Craig Kutil)
- 8.4 Unit Load Evaluation as Per CID (Sarah Thompson, Craig Kutil)

# 9. New Business

- 9.1 Discussion on determining catalog rights (Craig Kutil)
- 9.2 Update from Plenary (Ashley Young)
- 9.3 Update from CCCI (Sarah Thompson)
- 9.4 DEIA Update (Sarah Thompson, Ashley Young, Colin Thormoto)

9.5 The "Vancouver Model" regarding full and part time faculty (Sarah Thompson): tabled from last meeting

# 10. Announcements/Information Items

- April 26, 1 3 pm: Classified Appreciation Event (Cafeteria)
- May 12, 5 pm: Academic Senate awards nominations due to Rifka Several
- May 13, 10 am 6:30 pm: LPC Literary Arts Festival (Mertes Center)
- May 19, 5 pm: Reed Buffington nominations due to Rifka Several
- May 19, 6 8 pm: LPC Scholarships Awards Ceremony (Mertes Center)

## 11. Adjourn

12. Next Meeting: May 10, 2023, 2:30 – 4:30 pm