Las Positas College Student Government - Minutes

April 9, 2020 5:00 PM

Zoom

I. CALL TO ORDER (1 min)							
	Preside	ent B. Nkrumah calls the	meeting	g to order at 4:32 p.m.			
I.	ROLL CALL						
	Officers	<u>1</u>					
	A.	Blessing Nkrumah	-	President	P		
	В.	Alina Verzi	-	Vice President	NP		
	C.	Sahna Das	-	Director of Legislation	P		
	D.	Rodrigo Saucedo	-	Director of Communication	P		
	E.	Shahaf Dan	-	Director of Events	P		
	F.	Ensiyah Syed	-	ICC Chair	P		
	Advanc	ed Senators					
	Α.	Michelle Diaz-Nava	-	Director of Programs and Services		P	
	В.	Max Gikharev		Director of Finance		T	
	Senators	S					
		Lord Ferrer	P				
	В.	N'Namdi Nassor	NP				
	C.	Frank Polanco	P				
	D.	Manav Patel	P				
	E.	Maham Khawar	P				
	F.	Michael Xian Sheng Lin	NP				
	G.	Nicolaus Massie	P				
	Н.	Avery Kempton	P				
	I.	Jasmine Guerrero	NP				
	J.	Shagun Srivastava	P				
	Advisor	rs					
		William Garcia	_	Vice President - Student Services		_	P
	В.	Josue Hernandez	- Progr	ram Coordinator - Student Life & Le	adership	_	P

III. QUORUM (1 min)

Student Trustee

Quorum is established with 13 out of 18 members

IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA (1 min)

Motion: To approve this agenda (S. Dan / L. Ferrer); approved by consensus

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. Jakob Massie

Motion: To approve last meeting's minutes (E. Syed / S. Dan); approved by consensus

VI. GUEST SPEAKERS

President Foster	LPCSG will welcome Dr. Foster.	
	LPC President Foster welcomes student senate and addresses certain procedures during this COVID-19 outbreak	
	Opens floor for student concerns	
Jessica Stubbs	J. Stubbs will give an overview of each bill, then LPCSG will potentially take action on them. https://cqrcengage.com/fclca/file/NhwtAsXIHaV/SB%2054_AB%201080% 20Fact%20Sheet%20-%205_20_19.pdf	
	https://trackbill.com/bill/california-assembly-bill-1080-solid-waste-packagin g-and-products/1699507/	
	https://trackbill.com/bill/california-senate-bill-54-solid-waste-packaging-and-products/1609525/	
	Jessica Stubbs presented senate bills AB 1080 and SB 54 for LPCSG to consider	

VII. PUBLIC COMMENT (3 minutes per person) Students and members of the public are encouraged to speak on any topic during public comment. Each individual is limited to three minutes. If students or members of the public wish to address an item on the agenda during the meeting or ask questions during the meeting, they need to be recognized by the Chairperson by both raising their hand and speaking out their name. Their comment is limited to three minutes. (CA Education Code 72121.5 and Government Code 54954.3)

VIII. SPECIAL ORDERS

LPCSG will review and possibly take action on amending the LPCSG
Community Agreements.
President B. Nkrumah reads over community agreements

IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

X. NEW BUSINESS

Bylaws Review Sahna Das	LPCSG will discuss proposed amendments to the LPCSG Bylaws pertaining to member responsibilities, standing committees, and approving Senators at the end of each Spring semester.
----------------------------	---

	Discusses about • Senator cap limit • Potentially lowering it to 7 senators • New changes to executive position responsibilities		
Acknowledgement of Disqualification LPCSG	LPCSG will acknowledge those constituents who no longer fulfill the requirements of a member of LPCSG.		
	 LPCSG recognizes senators who no longer qualify as a senator for the organization N'Namdi Nassor Michale Xian Sheng Lin 		
Acknowledgment of Election Results	LPCSG will acknowledge the election results.		
LPCSG Exec Board	Election results for next year's LPCSG executive board: • President: • Saba Salehifar • Vice President • Esmaa Elarguri • Director of Legislation • Raine Yenlinn • CLPCCD Student Trustee • Frank Polanco		

XI. OFFICER REPORTS

Officers

A.	Blessing Nkrumah	President	(3 min)
B.	Alina Verzi	Vice President	(3 min)
C.	Sahna Das	Director of Legislation	(3 min)
D.	Rodrigo Saucedo	Director of Communications	(3 min)
E.	Shahaf Dan	Director of Events	(3 min)
F.	Ensiyah Syed	ICC Chair	(3 min)

Advanced Senators

(3 min)

G. Michelle Diaz-Nava

Director of Programs and Services

H. Max Gikharev

Director of Finance

Senators

I. Lord Ferrer

- J. N'Namdi Nassor
- K. Frank Polanco
- L. Manav Patel
- M. Maham Khawar
- N. Michael Xian Sheng Lin
- O. Nicolaus Massie
- P. Avery Kempton

(3 min)

- **Q.** Jasmine Guerrero
- R. Shagun Srivastava

Governance Committee Report

S. Executive Board

T. Senators

Advisors

U. William Garcia

-Vice President - Student Services

(5 min)

(3 min)

- Addressed new grading policy procedures for students to consider during the COVID-19 outbreak to include:
 - Extraordinary Withdrawal
 - o Pass/No Pass option
- More information regarding the new grading policies can be found in Classweb
- Reminds and encourages students to complete an online survey sent via email to understand "student needs" due Saturday, April 18th no later than 9:00 p.m.
 - Students entered will be given a chance to win \$100 gift card (5 total)
- **V.** Josue Hernandez

-Program Coordinator - Student Life & Leadership

(5 min)

Student Trustee

A. Jakob Massie

(3 min)

- XII. ANNOUNCEMENTS (3 mins)
- XIII. ADJOURNMENT (1 min)

President B. Nkrumah adjourns the meeting at 5:36 p.m.