Las Positas College Student Government - Minutes

7 May 2020 4:30 PM

Zoom

I. CALL TO ORDER (1 min)

President B. Nkrumah calls the meeting to order at 4:51 p.m.

II. ROLL CALL

Officers

A.	Blessing Nkrumah	-	President	P
В.	Alina Verzi	-	Vice President	NP
C.	Sahna Das	-	Director of Legislation	P
D.	Rodrigo Saucedo	-	Director of Communication	P
E.	Shahaf Dan	-	Director of Events	P
F.	Ensiyah Syed	-	ICC Chair	P

Advanced Senators

Α.	Michelle Diaz-Nava	-	Director of Programs and Services	P
В.	Max Gikharev	-	Director of Finance	P

Senators

A.	Lord Ferrer	P
В.	Frank Polanco	P
C.	Manav Patel	P
D.	Maham Khawar	P
E.	Nicolaus Massie	P
F.	Avery Kempton	P
G.	Jasmine Guerrero	NP
H.	Shagun Srivastava	Р

<u>Advisors</u>

Α.	William Garcia	- Vice President - Student Services -	P
В.	Josue Hernandez	- Program Coordinator - Student Life & Leadership -	P

Student Trustee

A. Jakob Massie P

III. QUORUM (1 min)

Quorum is established with 14 out of 16 members and 2 advisors

IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA (1 min)

Motion: To approve this agenda (L. Ferrer / A. Kempton); approved by consensus

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion: To amend April 30th, 2020 senate minutes within the Adjournment section, eradicating "calls the meeting to order" and revise it to "adjourns the meeting" (M. Diaz-Nava / E. Syed);

approved by consensus

Motion: To approve last week's minutes (L. Ferrer / S. Dan); approved by consensus

VI. GUEST SPEAKERS

VII. PUBLIC COMMENT (3 minutes per person) Students and members of the public are encouraged to speak on any topic during public comment. Each individual is limited to three minutes. If students or members of the public wish to address an item on the agenda during the meeting or ask questions during the meeting, they need to be recognized by the Chairperson by both raising their hand and speaking out their name. Their comment is limited to three minutes. (CA Education Code 72121.5 and Government Code 54954.3)

VIII. SPECIAL ORDERS

Community
Agreements
Blessing Nkrumah

LPCSG will review and possibly take action on amending the LPCSG Community Agreements.

President B. Nkrumah reads over LPCSG community agreements

IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

X. NEW BUSINESS

Approval of
Executive Board
Scholarships

The Executive Board will give an overview of the scholarships, in conjunction with J. Hernandez. LPCSG will potentially vote on allocating these amounts.

Scholarship amounts are presented for executive board and advanced senator positions

<u>Motion:</u> To approve the scholarship amounts to the executive board and advanced senators (E. Syed / M. Gikharev)

Roll call

•	Alina Verzi	not present
•	Sahna Das	abstain
•	Rodrigo Saucedo	abstain
•	Shahaf Dan	abstain
•	Ensiyah Syed	abstain
•	Michelle Diaz-Nava	aye
•	Lord Ferrer	abstain
•	Max Gikharev	aye
•	Frank Polanco	aye
•	Manav Patel	aye
•	Maham Khawar	aye
•	Nicolaus Massie	aye

	 Avery Kempton aye Jasmine Guerrero not present Shagun Srivastava aye Motion passes with 8 ayes 		
EMP Goals and Strategies Frank Polanco and Rajinder Samra	Rajinder Samra and F. Polanco will give an overview of the ideas presented in the Emergency Master Plan taskforce, and open the floor for discussion. Discussions occurred regarding the impact of COVID-19 towards students Other data and statistics were presented by Rajinder Samra relating to the Emergency Master Plan Taskforce, to include survey results from students concerns		
Executive Board 20-21 Executive Board 19-20	The Executive Board 19-20 will swear in the Executive Board 20-21. Newly elected executive board, 2020-2021, is sworn into LPCSG Saba Salehifar - President Esmaa Elgarguri - Vice President Raine Yenlinn - Director of Legislation		

XI. OFFICER REPORTS

\circ	cc		_	
()	ш	C	e	S

A.	Blessing Nkrumah	President	(3 min)
	Thanks senate and congratula	ites new executive board	
B.	Alina Verzi	Vice President	(3 min)
C.	Sahna Das	Director of Legislation	(3 min)
	Thanks senate		
D.	Rodrigo Saucedo	Director of Communications	(3 min)
	Thanks senate		
E.	Shahaf Dan	Director of Events	(3 min)
	Thanks senate		
F.	Ensiyah Syed	ICC Chair	(3 min)
	Thanks senate		

Advanced Senators (3 min)

G. Michelle Diaz-Nava Director of Programs and Services
 Thanks senate

 H. Max Gikharev Director of Finance

Thanks senate

Senators (3 min)

I. Lord Ferrer

J. Frank Polanco

K. Manav Patel

L. Maham Khawar

M. Nicolaus Massie

- N. Avery Kempton
- **O.** Jasmine Guerrero
- P. Shagun Srivastava

Governance Committee Report

(3 min)

- **Q.** Executive Board
- R. Senators

Advisors

William Garcia -Vice President - Student Services (5 min)
 Recaps previous accomplishments from student senate and thanks them for their leadership

 Josue Hernandez -Program Coordinator - Student Life & Leadership (5 min)

Thanks senate for their leadership and cooperation

Student Trustee (3 min)

A. Jakob Massie

- XII. ANNOUNCEMENTS (3 mins)
- XIII. ADJOURNMENT (1 min)

President B. Nkrumah adjourns the meeting at 5:50 p.m.