# **Las Positas College Student Government Minutes**

Special Senate Meeting Agenda Wednesday, August 23, 2023 | 4:00 PM

**I. CALL TO ORDER** (1 min) B. Price called the meeting to order at 4:01pm, and a recess for 5 minutes. B. Price called the meeting back to order at 4:07pm.

#### **ROLL CALL**

#### **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Brody Price - President (Chair)

Present

Alexa Sumitra - Vice President

Excused (present at 4:33pm)

Jai Puli - Director of Legislation

Present

Lena Munad - Director of

Communication

Present

Mehrsa Gholikhamseh - Director of Events

Present

Ayaan Ahmad - Director of Programs and

Services

Present

Nada Ibrahim - Director of Finance

Present

Shreshth Sarin - Director of Club Outreach

Present

# STUDENT TRUSTEE

Omar Au - Las Positas College (LPC) Student Trustee

Present

#### **SENATORS**

Omar Au
Yuna Karpelevitch
-A
Evren Yuncuoglu
-P (Tardy at 4:45pm)
Brenda Loza
-P
Mehtaab Bath
-P
Britney Hernandez
-P

#### **ADVISORS**

Shawn Taylor - Director of Student Equity and Success -A

# III. QUORUM (1 min)

The quorum is established with 11/14 voting members.

# IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

B. Price moved to approve the agenda. B. Loza seconded the motion. The agenda is approved with no objections.

#### V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

B. Hernandez moved to approve the minutes from the 8/11 meeting. M. Gholikhamseh seconded the motion. The motion passed.

# VI. GUEST SPEAKERS

No guest speakers.

VII. PUBLIC COMMENT (3 minutes per person) Students and members of the public are encouraged to speak on any topic during public comment. Each individual is limited to three minutes. If students or members of the public wish to address an item on the agenda during the meeting or ask questions during the meeting, they need to be recognized by the Chairperson by both raising their hand and speaking out their name. Their comment is limited to three minutes. (CA Education Code 72121.5 and Government Code 54954.3)

No public comment was made.

#### VII. NEW BUSINESS

Club	S. Sarin will propose the recognition of continuing 10				
Recognition	and new clubs that have a representative present. minute				
(Action)	S. Sarin proposed the recognition of continuing and new				
-	clubs that have a representative present in this meeting.				
Shreshth Sarin	S. Sarin moves to recognize the following clubs:				
	A2MEND				
	Art & Design Club				
	Puente Club				
	Muslim Student Association				
	Las Positas Computer Science Club				
	Chess Club				
	J. Puli seconded the motion.				
	Roll Call				
	Brody Price - Aye				
	Jai Puli - Aye				
	Lena Munad – Aye				
	Mehrsa Gholikhamseh – Aye				
	Ayaan Ahmad - Aye				
	Nada Imbrahim - Aye				
	Shreshth Sarin - Aye				
	Omar Au – Aye				
	Britney Hernandez – Aye				
	Mehtaab Bath – Aye				
	Brenda Loza Aye				

	The motion passed with no objections.		
Club Budget Transfer (Action)	S. Sarin will propose the transfer of \$500 to newly recognized clubs for the 2023-2024 academic year.  S. Sarin proposed the transfer of \$500 to newly recognized clubs for the 2023-2024 academic year.	5 minutes	
Shreshth Sarin	S. Sarin moves to transfer \$500 to the following clubs:		
	A2MEND Art & Design Club Puente Club Muslim Student Association Las Positas Computer Science Club Chess Club  J. Puli seconded the motion.  Roll Call Brody Price - Aye Jai Puli - Aye Lena Munad - Aye Mehrsa Gholikhamseh - Aye Ayaan Ahmad - Aye Nada Imbrahim - Aye Shreshth Sarin - Aye Omar Au - Aye Britney Hernandez - Aye Mehtaab Bath - Aye Brenda Loza Aye		
	The motion passed with no objections.		
LPCSG Budget Transfer - Brody Price	B. Price will recommend moving funds (\$135,800) from the Student Activity Fee (903017) to the Student Senate Fund (903205) ICC (903206) 7285: \$17,500 to LPCSG Senate Account 903205	'	
	B. Loza moved to approve the transfer. S. Sarin seconded the motion.  Roll Call Brody Price - Aye Jai Puli - Aye Lena Munad - Aye Mehrsa Gholikhamseh - Aye Ayaan Ahmad - Aye		

Nada Imbrahim - Aye Shreshth Sarin - Aye Omar Au – Aye Britney Hernandez – Aye Mehtaab Bath – Aye Brenda Loza Aye	
The motion passed with no objections.	

Senator Recognition	A. Sumitra will recommend appointing new senators.	10 minutes	
(Action)	B. Price recommended to appoint the new senators that were present in this meeting.	minutes	
Alexa Sumitra	S. Sarin moved to appoint the following individuals as		
	senators:		
	Delaney Roehrs		
	Isabella Qiu		
	Eric Xu		
	N. Ibrahim seconded the motion		
	Roll Call		
	Brody Price - Aye		
	Jai Puli - Aye		
	Lena Munad – Aye Mehrsa Gholikhamseh – Aye		
	Ayaan Ahmad - Aye		
	Nada Imbrahim - Aye		
	Shreshth Sarin - Aye		
	Omar Au – Aye Britney Hernandez – Aye		
	Mehtaab Bath – Aye		
	Brenda Loza Aye		
	The motion passed with no objections. The senators will		
	be appointed pending their attendance of a second LPCSG meeting.		
	LFC50 meeting.		
Conduct and	B. Price will conduct a focused discussion		
Professionalism	reminding officers of their expected behavior and	minutes	
(Discussion)	professionalism.		
-	B. Price conducted a focused discussion reminding		
Brody Price	officers of their expected behavior and professionalism.		
Shared Governance	A. Sumitra will conduct a focused discussion	5 minut	
<b>Committees (Discussion)</b>	reminding executive officers and senators to select a		
-	shared governance committee.		
Alexa Sumitra	A. Sumitra conducted a focused discussion reminding		
	executive officers and senators to select a shared		

Welcome Back Week (Discussion)	M. Gholikhamseh will provide an update on Welcome Back Week and facilitate a discussion on	10 minutes	
- Mehrsa Gholikhamseh	which officers will assist with which tasks.  M. Gholikhamseh provided an update on Welcome Back Week and facilitated a discussion on which officers will assist with which tasks.		
	assist with which tasks.		

#### XI. OFFICER REPORTS

#### **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Brody Price - President -No office report was provided.

Alexa Sumitra - Vice President (Chair) - Alexa Sumitra shared that she has conducted senator interviews.

Jai Puli - Director of Legislation - Jai Puli reported that he has been helping with preparations for SSCCC.

Lena Munad - Director of Communication -Lena Munad reported that she volunteered for welcoming back students last week.

Mehrsa Gholikhamseh - Director of Events -No office report was provided.

Ayaan Ahmad - Director of Programs and Services - No office report was provided.

Nada Ibrahim - Director of Finance -Nada reported that she is excited for welcome back week.

Shreshth Sarin - Director of Club Outreach

### STUDENT TRUSTEE

Omar Au - Las Positas College (LPC) Student Trustee – Omar attended the board meeting during the week of August 14<sup>th</sup>.

#### **SENATORS**

Omar Au

Yuna Karpelevitch

Evren Yuncuoglu

-Evren reported that his excel has not been working.

Brenda Loza

-Brenda Loza reported that she filled out the shared governance committee

-Brenda Loza reported that she fined out the shared governance committee document.

Mehtaab Bath

Britney Hernandez

## **ADVISORS**

Shawn Taylor - Director of Student Equity and Success

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of Student Life & Leadership -No office report was provided.

#### IX. ANNOUNCEMENTS (3 mins)

# X. GOOD OF THE ORDER

B. Price suspended the good of the order at 5:04pm.

#### XI. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting is adjourned at 5:04pm.